Do LLCs get a 1099? Sometimes. An LLC taxed as a sole proprietorship (a single-member “disregarded entity”) or as a partnership generally receives Form 1099-NEC when you pay it $2,000 or more for services during 2026. An LLC taxed as an S corporation or C corporation generally does not, unless the payments are for legal or medical services. The quickest way to know which rule applies is to get a completed Form W-9 from the LLC before you pay it.
This guide is written for business owners and bookkeepers who pay contractors. It explains the new 2026 reporting threshold, how each LLC tax classification is treated, the exceptions that apply even to corporations, and a checklist for collecting W-9s. It is general information rather than tax advice, so confirm unusual situations with a CPA or enrolled agent.
Which LLCs get a 1099?
Whether an LLC gets a 1099 depends on its federal tax classification, not on the letters “LLC” in its name. The IRS instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC say payments to a corporation, including an LLC treated as a C or S corporation, generally are not reported. LLCs taxed as sole proprietorships or partnerships are not exempt.
| How the LLC is taxed | Gets a 1099-NEC? | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Single-member LLC (disregarded entity) | Yes, at $2,000 or more for services | Treated like a sole proprietor |
| Multi-member LLC taxed as a partnership | Yes, at $2,000 or more for services | Partnerships aren’t covered by the corporate exemption |
| LLC taxed as an S corporation | Usually no | Corporate exemption applies |
| LLC taxed as a C corporation | Usually no | Corporate exemption applies |
| Any LLC paid for legal services | Yes | Attorney fees are reported even for corporations |
| Any LLC paid by card or payment app | No 1099-NEC from you | The payment processor handles any Form 1099-K reporting |
An LLC is a business structure created under state law. For federal tax purposes, the IRS looks through that structure to how the LLC is taxed. That is why two LLCs on the same street can get opposite answers, even when they do identical work for you.
It also means you can’t decide from a business name. “Smith Design LLC” might be a one-person disregarded entity that needs a 1099, or it might have elected S corporation status years ago and need nothing. Guessing wrong in either direction causes problems: skipping a required form can lead to IRS penalties, and sending an unnecessary one confuses the vendor’s accountant. A quick look at the vendor’s W-9 avoids both mistakes.
What changed in 2026 with the $2,000 threshold?
For payments made after December 31, 2025, a business generally needs to issue Form 1099-NEC only once it pays a contractor $2,000 or more in a calendar year, up from $600. According to the IRS instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC, the $2,000 amount may be adjusted for inflation starting in 2027.
Timing matters. Forms filed in early 2026 covered payments made in 2025, so they used the earlier $600 threshold. The $2,000 threshold applies to money you pay during 2026, which you will report in early 2027. If you are unsure which year a payment belongs to, count it in the year you actually paid it, not the year printed on the invoice.
Card and payment-app transactions follow a separate set of rules. The IRS confirmed in Fact Sheet 2025-08 that third party settlement organizations are not required to file Form 1099-K unless payments to a payee exceed $20,000 and the number of transactions exceeds 200. Those forms come from the processor, not from you.
One point often gets lost: the threshold decides who receives a form, not what is taxable. Here is a hypothetical example. You pay a freelance designer’s single-member LLC $1,800 by bank transfer in 2026 and a bookkeeping firm organized as a partnership LLC $2,400 by check. Under the new rule, only the bookkeeping firm gets a Form 1099-NEC from you, yet the designer still has to report the $1,800 as income. If your accounting software defaulted to $600 for years, confirm that it applied the new amount before you file.

How are single-member and multi-member LLCs treated?
Single-member and multi-member LLCs both generally receive a 1099 when they are not taxed as corporations. The difference is whose name and taxpayer identification number (TIN) goes on the form. A single-member LLC is usually disregarded, so the form uses the owner’s details. A partnership LLC receives the form under its own name and employer identification number (EIN).
Single-member LLCs (disregarded entities)
Disregarded entities cause the most confusion. The IRS instructions for Form W-9 tell a disregarded LLC to enter the owner’s name on line 1, the LLC’s name on line 2, and to check the box for the owner’s tax classification on line 3a. When you prepare the 1099, use the name and TIN the owner provided, because that is what the IRS matches against its records. Mismatched names and numbers are one of the most common reasons information returns get flagged.
Multi-member LLCs taxed as partnerships
Partnership LLCs are more predictable. The LLC files its own partnership return and has its own EIN, so the 1099 goes to the LLC rather than to any one member. If you are deciding how your own business should be taxed, our breakdown of LLC vs S corp taxation explains how that election affects self-employment tax, payroll, and the paperwork clients ask for. Many owners start as a single-member LLC and elect S corporation status as profits grow, which changes their 1099 answer from that point forward.
When does an LLC taxed as an S corp still get a 1099?
An LLC taxed as an S corporation or C corporation usually doesn’t get a 1099, but the IRS lists exceptions. You must still report attorney fees, gross proceeds paid to an attorney, and medical and health care payments, even when the payee is a corporation. That means law firms and medical practices usually receive one regardless of their tax election.
Based on the IRS instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC, keep these categories in mind:
- Attorney fees: Reported on Form 1099-NEC regardless of how the law firm is taxed.
- Gross proceeds paid to an attorney: For example, certain settlement payments, reported on Form 1099-MISC.
- Medical and health care payments: Reported on Form 1099-MISC, including payments to incorporated practices.
- Card and payment-app payments: Not reported on Form 1099-NEC or 1099-MISC, because they fall under Form 1099-K reporting.
The same classification rules apply to other payment types. Rent you pay to a landlord’s LLC, for instance, is reported on Form 1099-MISC rather than 1099-NEC, and the corporate exemption still applies. Payments for merchandise, freight, storage, and similar items generally are not reportable on these forms, because Form 1099-NEC covers services. Sorting payments by type before year-end makes filing much faster.
Paying international contractors
International payments follow a different path. According to the IRS instructions for Form W-9, a foreign person, including a U.S. branch of a foreign person, should not submit a W-9 and should instead provide the appropriate Form W-8. Payments to foreign persons fall under separate withholding and reporting rules, often involving Form 1042-S, which the IRS explains in Publication 515. Because the answer depends on where services are performed and the contractor’s status, check cross-border arrangements with a tax professional before paying.
How do you check an LLC’s tax status before paying?
Ask for a completed Form W-9 before you send the first payment. Line 3 shows whether the LLC is a disregarded entity, a partnership, an S corporation, or a C corporation, and Part I gives the TIN you need. If a payee fails to provide a TIN or provides an incorrect one, the IRS W-9 instructions say backup withholding applies at 24%.
A W-9 checklist for paying LLCs
- Request a signed Form W-9 during vendor onboarding, before the first payment.
- Read line 3 to confirm the tax classification, and note whether the LLC is disregarded.
- Confirm the name and TIN match (the owner’s details for a disregarded LLC).
- Track payments by type (services, rent, goods) and by method (check or ACH versus card or payment app).
- Request a new W-9 whenever the vendor changes its name, address, or tax election.
- File Form 1099-NEC with the IRS and furnish it to the recipient by January 31, or the next business day if that date falls on a weekend or legal holiday.
Our guide to the W-9 for LLC owners walks through each line, including where single-member owners commonly go wrong. Store completed forms securely, because they contain a Social Security number or EIN.
You don’t have to print and scan W-9s. The IRS allows electronic submission when the requester’s system authenticates the signer, captures an electronic signature under penalties of perjury using the Form W-9 language, and can produce a paper copy on request, as described in the W-9 requester instructions. BlueNotary advertises a free eSign tool for signing documents online; confirm that any tool you use meets those IRS conditions before relying on it for W-9s.
Common 1099 mistakes with LLCs
• Deciding from the business name instead of the W-9 classification.
• Applying the old $600 threshold to 2026 payments.
• Issuing a 1099-NEC for payments you made by credit card or through a payment app.
• Using the LLC’s name with the owner’s Social Security number (or the reverse) for a disregarded entity.
• Skipping attorney fees because the law firm is incorporated.
If you own the LLC, the same rules work in reverse. Make sure clients have your current W-9 before year-end. A disregarded single-member LLC may receive 1099s under the owner’s name and TIN, which is normal. If your LLC elected S corporation status, tell clients so they can update their records, and keep invoices and bank statements either way, since receiving or not receiving a 1099 doesn’t change what you report.
So, do LLCs get a 1099? Treat the W-9 as your answer key. If line 3 shows a disregarded entity or a partnership and you paid $2,000 or more for services in 2026, plan to file Form 1099-NEC. If it shows an S or C corporation, you’re usually done, unless you paid for legal or medical services.
Have a question about signing or notarizing business documents online? Email BlueNotary at [email protected] and the team will help.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need to send a 1099 to an LLC?
Usually only if the LLC is taxed as a sole proprietorship or partnership and you paid it $2,000 or more for services in 2026. LLCs taxed as S or C corporations are generally exempt, except for payments such as attorney fees and medical payments.
Does an LLC taxed as an S corp get a 1099?
Usually not. The IRS generally exempts payments to corporations, including LLCs taxed as S corporations. Exceptions include attorney fees, gross proceeds paid to attorneys, and medical and health care payments, which you still report regardless of the payee’s tax election.
Do partnerships get a 1099?
Yes. Partnerships, including multi-member LLCs taxed as partnerships, are not covered by the corporate exemption. They generally receive Form 1099-NEC once your payments to them for services reach $2,000 during 2026, reported under the partnership’s own name and EIN.
What is the 1099 threshold for 2026?
For payments made after December 31, 2025, the general Form 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC reporting threshold is $2,000, up from $600. The IRS says the amount may be adjusted for inflation beginning in 2027. Some payment types have different thresholds.
When is Form 1099-NEC due?
Form 1099-NEC is due to the IRS and to the recipient by January 31 of the year after payment. When January 31 falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the deadline moves to the next business day.
What if an LLC won’t give me a W-9?
If a payee does not provide a TIN, backup withholding generally applies at 24% on reportable payments. Request the W-9 before the first payment, keep a record of your requests, and ask a tax professional how to handle a vendor who refuses.
Need contracts, affidavits, or other business documents notarized? Explore BlueNotary for Businesses to see how your team can request online notarization on demand.
